News

May Gospel Reading

by on

Img 4153.jpeg?ixlib=rails 2.1
Img 4146.jpeg?ixlib=rails 2.1
Img 4144.jpeg?ixlib=rails 2.1

It was so good to read the gospel of Mark together last month. Phil and Marsha and I kept saying to each other, “What did you think about that story?” or, “What do you think Jesus meant when he said…?” We got text messages and emails from some of you about your experience reading Mark, and we loved reading the same chapter as so many of you each morning!

This month, we’re turning to the book of Luke.

In the first chapter, this book is addressed to “the most honorable Theophilus.” I just learned that that is a Greek name meaning “lover of God.” Because the name is Greek, it implies this is addressed to a Gentile and a new believer - someone who was just learning about Jesus and the way of life he taught his disciples. I really like thinking about that.

We can all read this gospel with fresh eyes, as if we are just learning about Jesus for the first time and being invited into a new and exciting life with him!

Luke Gospel Reading Schedule for May 2020

Friday, May 1 – Luke 1:1-38
Saturday, May 2 — Luke 1:39-80

Monday, May 4 — Luke 2
Tuesday, May 5 — Luke 3
Wednesday, May 6 — Luke 4
Thursday, May 7 — Luke 5
Friday, May 8 — Luke 6
Saturday, May 9 — Luke 7

Monday, May 11 — Luke 8
Tuesday, May 12 — Luke 9
Wednesday, May 13 — Luke 10
Thursday, May 14 — Luke 11
Friday, May 15 — Luke 12
Saturday, May 16 — Luke 13

Monday, May 18 — Luke 14
Tuesday, May 19 — Luke 15
Wednesday, May 20 — Luke 16
Thursday, May 21 — Luke 17
Friday, May 22 — Luke 18
Saturday, May 23 — Luke 19

Monday, May 18 — Luke 14
Tuesday, May 19 — Luke 15
Wednesday, May 20 — Luke 16
Thursday, May 21 — Luke 17
Friday, May 22 — Luke 18
Saturday, May 23 — Luke 19

Monday, May 25 — Luke 20
Tuesday, May 26 — Luke 21
Wednesday, May 27 — Luke 22:1-38
Thursday, May 28 — Luke 22:39-71
Friday, May 29 — Luke 23
Saturday, May 30 — Luke 24

We hope you’ll join us in reading through another gospel together. We are all longing for connection, and we are all longing for God. This practice of reading our Bibles together is helping us find both.

Back to the blog
Sarah Hurt

About Sarah Hurt

Sarah Hurt is the Assistant Director at Camp and an eleven year-old at heart. A graduate of Wake Forest University, Sarah loves good stories, twinkling stars, and porch swings. When she’s not at Camp, Sarah lives in Lookout Mountain, Tennessee, with her dog, Riley.

Blog: Follow the latest news